• brendadproductions

The Month of the Seven Sorrow

In the Catholic Faith, each of the twelve months is dedicated to a different devotion. September is the Month of the Seven Sorrows. This month, we recall the seven difficult and painful struggles Mary experienced in her life. Knowing these seven sorrows helps us appreciate Mary’s role in our salvation. Praying on her sorrows brings us closer to God.

What Are the Seven Sorrows?

A sorrow is a deep sadness filled with love. It is sadness caused by loss or misfortune experienced by oneself or another. Mary experienced the greatest joy in being called to be the Mother of Jesus. But with this great blessing, she experienced tremendous sorrow.

1. The Prophecy of Simeon. Simeon foretold of Jesus’ death and resurrection and noted that Mary would experience great sadness and suffering.

2. The Fight into Egypt. Mary and Joseph had to escape from Herod with the Christ Child so that He would not be killed by the king.

3. The Loss of Jesus for Three Days. When he was only 12, Mary and Joseph could not find Jesus for three days. He had gone to the Temple and shared his wisdom with the rabis.

4. The Carrying of the Cross. Mary witnessed her son’s torture as he carried The Cross on His way to being crucified.

5. The Crucifixion of Jesus. Mary was there when Jesus was nailed to The Cross for our sins.

6. Jesus Taken Down from the Cross. Mary was with Jesus after His death, when His body was taken from The Cross to be buried.

7. Jesus Laid in the Tomb. Mary accompanied Jesus’ body to the tomb for His burial.

How to Pray the Seven Sorrows

During September, we are invited by The Church, in a special way, to pray the Seven

Sorrows. Here are some ways to approach this devotion.

1. Reflect. What are our sorrows? What challenges do we face that bring us sadness filled with love?

2. Recall. Recall

Mary’s suffering. Consider her sorrow watching her Son die.

3. Remember. Mary never lost hope. She trusted in God’s plan. Always.

4. Reach Out. Help people struggling in their own sorrow. Connect with them. Pray for them.

The Seven Promises to Those Who Pray the Seven Sorrows

Tradition holds that Mary revealed to St. Bridget of Sweden seven promises to those who pray these seven sorrows. They are:

1. I will grant peace to their families.

2. They will be enlightened about the divine mysteries.

3. I will console them in their pains, and I will accompany them in their work.

4. I will give them as much as they ask for as long as it does not appose the adorable will of my divine Son or the sanctification of their souls.

5. I will defend them in their spiritual battles with the infernal enemy and I will protect them at every instant of their lives.

6. I will visibly help them at the moment of their death, they will see the face of their Mother.

7. I have obtained from my divine Son, that those who propagate this devotion to my tears and dolors, will be taken directly from this earthly life to eternal happiness since all their sins will be forgiven and my Son and I will be their eternal consolation and joy.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All